2014/15 CDP winners - 605 Company's Josh Martin and Lisa Martin Gelley. Photo: David Cooper
Josh Martin and Lisa Martin Gelley

Chrystal Dance Prize History and Winners

Dr. Betty "Chrystal" Kleiman
Dr. Betty “Chrystal” Kleiman

The Chrystal Dance Prize is named for Dr. Betty “Chrystal” Kleiman whose bequest to the Victoria Foundation in 2009 created the prize that Dance Victoria awards on an annual basis. A committee of dance professionals is assembled each year to select the recipients.

It was Chrystal’s desire that dance artists from western Canada have the opportunity to learn from and work with the best professionals in the world and that they bring these influences and new works back to Canada. A much-loved pediatrician in Victoria known for her extraordinary work with troubled youth, Kleiman was fiercely individual. She loved the arts and pursued interests in poetry, pottery, painting and dance. She was also an avid kayaker and environmentalist. One of her proudest achievements was getting arrested when she protested against the logging of Clayoquot Sound on Vancouver Island in 1993. The Chrystal Dance Prize is awarded to artists who share Chrystal’s generosity and passion for self-expression.

2022/23 Winners

  • Julia Taffe of Aeriosa Dance Society (Vancouver) and choreographer Marija Scekic of Histeria Nova Artistic Organization (Croatia); Shion Skye Carter (Vancouver) and choreographer/performer Mayumi Lashbrook, and co-choreographer/dramaturg Ayumi Hamada (Japan); Amber Downie-Back (Victoria) with sound designer Angus Gaffney and contemporary dancer/choreographer Emilie van der Waals (Netherlands-based, from Sint Maarten)
  • Margarette Bernal (Richmond) and Bryn Bridgen (Vancouver) (Dance Training winners) Margarette Bernal (winner of Arabella and Robert Award for Dance).

2021/22 Winners

2020/21 Winners

2019/20 Winners

2018/19 Winners

2017/18 Winners

2016/17 Winners

2015/16 Winners

2014/15 Winners

2013/14 Winners

2012/13 Winners

  • Wen Wei Wang (Vancouver) with Gao Yan Jinzi (China)
  • Kara Chan (Dance Training Winner)

2011/12 Winner

  • Daelik with Fabrice Ramalingom (France)

2010/11 Winner

  • Jung-Ah Chung with Kyeung-Eun Lee (South Korea)