Chrystal Dance Prize Winners

Find out about previous winners of the CDP

The Chrystal Dance Prize is generated from a substantial bequest made by Dance Victoria patron Dr. Betty “Chrystal” Kleiman to the Victoria Foundation. A committee of dance professionals is assembled each year to select the recipients.

Chrystal Kleiman
Chrystal Kleiman

The Chrystal Dance Prize is named for Dr. Betty “Chrystal” Kleiman whose bequest to the Victoria Foundation in 2009 created the prize that Dance Victoria awards on an annual basis. It was Chrystal’s desire that dance artists from western Canada have the opportunity to learn from and work with the best professionals in the world and that they bring these influences and new works back to Canada. A much-loved pediatrician in Victoria known for her extraordinary work with troubled youth, Kleiman was fiercely individual. She loved the arts and pursued interests in poetry, pottery, painting and dance. She was also an avid kayaker and environmentalist. One of her proudest achievements was getting arrested when she protested against the logging of Clayquot Sound on Vancouver Island in 1993. The Chrystal Dance Prize is awarded to individual artists who share Chrystal’s generosity and passion for self-expression.

2017/18 Winners

Stacey Horton with Gabi Beier (Germany)
Holden Cole, Adrian de Leeuw (Dance Student Winners)

2016/17 Winners

Arash Khakpour with Emmalena Fredriksson (Sweden); Meredith Kalaman with Gabi Beier (Germany)
Adrian de Leeuw, Matilda Çobanli (Dance Student Winners)

2015/16 Winners

Justine A. Chambers with Laurie Young (Germany); David Ferguson with Hyoseung Ye & Jung ah Chung (South Korea)
Matilda Çobanli (Dance Student Winner)

2014/15 Winners

Meredith Kalaman with Gabi Beier (Germany); Josh Martin & Lisa Martin Gelley with German Juaregi (Spain)
Sasha Beardmore, Candace Gordon (Dance Student Winners)

2013/14 Winners

Tara Cheyenne Friedenberg with Silvia Gribaldi (Italy); Kimberley Cooper with Valeria Pinheiro (Brazil)
Alexander Andison (Dance Student Winner)

2012/13 Winners

Wen Wei Wang with Gao Yan Jinzi (China)
Kara Chan (Dance Student Winner)

2011/12 Winner

Daelik with Fabrice Ramalingom (France)

2010/11 Winner

Jung-Ah Chung with Kyeung-Eun Lee (South Korea)