Virtual Home Season: Bringing the World’s Best Dance to Your Home

Canada‘s Ukrainian Shumka Dancers‘ Nutcracker (Canada/Ukraine)

With Guests from Ukraine‘s Kyiv Ballet

Choreographers
Viktor Lytvynov + John Pichlyk
Music
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Additional Music arrangements
Yuri Shevchenko
Costume Design
Maria Levitska (National Opera of Ukraine)
Duration
1 hour, 27 minutes

Performance Dates

Thu. Dec. 10 • Available 5pm

Fri. Dec. 11 • All Day

Sat. Dec. 12 • All Day

Sun. Dec. 13 • Ends 5pm

The delightful story of young Clara, her dream prince, brave soldiers, and the meddling mice, is reimagined and proudly presented as a Ukrainian version of Tchaikovsky’s famous work in Shumka’s Nutcracker. This unique blend of the grace and lyricism of classical ballet with the strength and power of Ukrainian dance brings a special sense of energy and excitement to this Christmas classic.

“A perfect first Nutcracker for many generations…a powerful and beautiful thing to behold.” EDMONTON JOURNAL

Season sponsor: Derma Spa
Season Subscription sponsor: Modev

How To Access Dance Victoria’s 2020/21 Virtual Home Season

Nutcracker by Ukrainian Shumka Dancers. Photo: Gregg Ingram

Everything you need to know to access the secure Vimeo presentation and attend the Zoom watch party.

Ticket Holders Enjoy These Extras

Program Notes - Meet the Company

Example Program Notes

Download the program notes for complete casting, synopsis, company insights and more.

Ntucracker Story Time

Mr Nutcracker

Nutcracker Story Time with professional storyteller Jim Leard, who will recount the magical story of Nutcracker  for your little ones to enjoy.

Watch Together/Chat After (optional)

Nutcracker by Ukrainian Shumka Dancers. Photo: Epic Photography

Sunday, December 13

Join Dance Victoria’s Executive Producer Stephen White and a panel of guests for an informative discussion about Shumka’s Nutcracker.

A Message from our Sponsor

Jane and Harlow Hollis

Watch a recorded message from our Lead Sponsor.

Share the Magic!

Nutcracker by Ukrainian Shumka Dancers. Photo: Marc J Chalifoux

Help make a dream come true for Victoria’s most vulnerable kids.

Find out more about Nutcracker Kids. Supported by Campaign Chair Julie Rust Personal Real Estate.

Crafts for Kids

Example Colouring Nutcracker

Download PDF craft pages so your little ones can colour and cut them out prior to the show!

Virtual Swag Bag

DV-subscriber-page-swag-Koubi

Discounts/coupons offered by our incredible sponsors who own amazing businesses and services in our community.

What the day owes to the night by Compagnie Hervé KOUBI. Photo: Nathalie Sternalski
Compagnie Hervé KOUBI

Performances

Thu. Nov. 12 • Available 5pm

Fri. Nov. 13 • All Day

Sat. Nov. 14 • All Day

Sun. Nov. 15 • Ends 5pm

Danca Sinfonica by Grupo Corpo. Photo: Jose Luiz Pederneiras
Grupo Corpo

Performances

Thu. Feb. 25 • Available 5pm

Fri. Feb. 26 • All Day

Sat. Feb. 27 • All Day

Sun. Feb. 28 • Ends 5pm

Balance & Imbalance by Bereishit Dance Company. Photo Nikith Nath
Bereishit Dance Company

Performances

Thu. Apr. 8 • Available 5pm

Fri. Apr. 9 • All Day

Sat. Apr. 10 • All Day

Sun. Apr. 11 • Ends 5pm